Hockey India on Tuesday nominated nationwide girls’s group captain Rani Rampal for the celebrated Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award whereas Vandana Kataria, Monika and Harmanpreet Singh had been advisable for the Arjuna Award.

For the Major Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime Achievement, the federation has advisable former India stalwarts R P Singh and Tushar Khandker.

Coaches B J Kariappa and Romesh Pathania have been nominated for the Dronacharya Award.

The interval of consideration for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, India’s highest sporting honour, is between January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2019.

During this era, Rani led the group to historic victories within the Women’s Asia Cup in 2017, silver on the 2018 Asian Games and performed a essential function within the FIH Olympic Qualifiers in 2019 by scoring the deciding aim that helped India qualify for the Tokyo Olympics.

The group additionally climbed to a career-best ninth the FIH world rankings.

Rani, who’s the primary Indian to be named because the World Games Athlete of The Year, has additionally been the recipient of the Arjuna Award (2016) and Padma Shri (2020).

India striker Vandana, with over 200 worldwide caps, and Monika, with 150 nationwide appearances, have been advisable for the Arjuna Award.

They each performed key roles within the group’s sensational wins in 2019 together with the FIH Series Finals in Hiroshima, Tokyo 2020 Olympics Test Event and the Olympic Qualifiers in Bhubaneswar.

The Indian males’s group dragflick specialist, Harmanpreet Singh, can also be within the short-list for the Arjuna nominees. He was instrumental within the group’s successful efficiency within the FIH Series Finals in Odisha.

At the 2020 Olympics Test Event, he captained the group to victory within the absence of Manpreet Singh who was rested for the event.

Harmanpreet was additionally part of the Indian group that gained the Olympic Qualifiers towards Russia final 12 months.

Former India stars Dr RP Singh and Khandker’s continued contribution within the area of hockey has led to their advice for the Major Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime Achievement.

Kariappa, who has been nominated for the Dronacharya Award, has coached the Indian junior males’s group to a silver on the Sultan of Johor Cup in 2019.

Speaking on the suggestions for the National Awards, Hockey India President Mohd Mustaque Ahmad stated: “Sardar Singh was the final hockey participant to win the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award.

“Rani has set new benchmarks in women’s hockey and we feel she is very deserving of the top award.”

A panel shaped by the Sports Ministry will shortlist the nominations obtained from numerous nationwide federations with the awards to be introduced on National Sports Day, August 29.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here