Pankaj Tripathi, Manoj Bajpayee and Samantha Akkineni had been a few of the different winners on the twelfth version of the competition

The Indian Film Festival of Melbourne (IFFM) introduced at this time its winners for its twelfth version, which was held nearly. This yr’s competition had a line-up of characteristic and brief movies from throughout India, representing the theme of range by means of cinema.

Personalities from the Indian movie fraternity like Anurag Kashyap, Shoojit Sircar, Thiagarajan Kumararaja, Sriram Raghavan had been amongst the presenters. Also current had been jury members together with Richa Chadha, Guneet Monga, Onir, Australian filmmaker Geoffrey Wright and Oscar-nominated editor Jill Bilcock.

IFFM honored Pankaj Tripathi with the Diversity in Cinema Award introduced by LaTrobe University. Tamil movie Soorarai Pottru walked away with the Best Feature Film and Suriya received the Best Actor award for a similar venture. Vidya Balan received the Best Actress for Sherni, whereas Mirzapur was given the Best Series Award. Filmmaker Anurag Basu picked up the Best Director trophy for the characteristic movie Ludo. Manoj Bajpayee and Samantha Akkineni received awards for his or her roles in season two of Family Man as nicely. Malayalam movie The Great Indian Kitchen was additionally recognised.

Speaking in regards to the winners, the competition’s director Mitu Bhowmick Lange, says, “We congratulate all the winners and their teams for making great films that were loved by the audiences across the globe. It is about time that we have conversations in cinema and about cinema that are not mainstream and biased. It is time to present the diverse sensibilities through narratives that are ground-breaking and all the winners of the IFFM awards symbolize this fervour of thought.”

Suriya, on his half thanked his followers and Soorarai Pottru director Sudha Kongara, saying, “I’m sure all the nominees have given their best. This film is very special, and this is the first award I’m getting for this film. Thanks to all the fans who have given us so much love. In my career, I felt bored with what I was doing after having worked for 20 years. So thanks to my director Sudha — this film was her 10 years dream — she worked four years on writing or his film. The character of Maara will not be anything without her. I couldn’t ask for more.”

Vidya Balan stated she was thrilled to be receiving the award for Sherni, which was shot throughout the pandemic, “Thanks to my director Amit Masurkar and my producer Abundantia, who pulled out all the stops to make this film during these uncertain times.”

On profitable the Diversity in Cinema Award, Pankaj Tripathi stated, “This award is special for me, I’m humbled and it’s really inspiring for me, my craft. The man who is here to give me this award, he is the one who discovered my talent. So thanks to Anurag Kashyap sir. He is the one who rediscovered my talent. I’m grateful to all my directors, writers for having me part of their projects.”

The full checklist of winners at Indian Film Festival of Melbourne 2021:

Best Feature Film – Soorarai Pottru

Best Performance Male (Feature) – Suriya Sivakumar (Soorarai Pottru)

Best Performance Female (Feature) – Vidya Balan (Sherni) & Honourable point out to Nimisha Sajayan (The Great Indian Kitchen)

Best Director – Anurag Basu (Ludo) & Honorary Mention Prithvi Konanur (Pinki Elli?)

Best Series – Mirzapur Season 2

Best Actress in a Series – Samantha Akkineni (The Family Man 2)

Best Actor in a Series – Manoj Bajpayee (The Family Man 2)

Equality in Cinema (Short Film) – Sheer Qorma

Equality in Cinema Award (Feature Film) – The Great Indian Kitchen

Best Indie Film – Fire within the Mountains

Diversity in Cinema Award – Pankaj Tripathi

Disruptor Award – Sanal Kumar Sasidharan

Best Documentary Film – Shut Up Sona


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here