After Deepak Chahar, Suryakumar Yadav is the second Indian player to be ruled out of the upcoming T20I series. When Deepak took a run-up for bowling in the third T20 against West Indies, he strained his right thigh.

Sri Lanka has ruled out Suryakumar Yadav, who played a key role in Team India’s victory in the T20 series against West Indies. Cricbuzz reports that Suryakumar has a hairline fracture in his hand and has not been cleared to participate in the T20 series by the team management. Suryakumar, who was Player of the Series, hasn’t been mentioned in the report when he was injured. It is said that he suffered the injury while fielding in the last T20 match played at Eden Gardens in Kolkata against the West Indies. In the T20I series against West Indies, Suryakumar was also named Player of the Series.

Deepak Chahar Out Of T20 Series

After Deepak Chahar, he is the second Indian player to be ruled out of the upcoming T20 series. In the third T20 against the West Indies, Deepak suffered a strained right thigh while taking a run-up. After that, he couldn’t bowl even four of his quota of overs. The umpire sent him back to the dugout.

BCCI Not Yet Confirmed

Suryakumar’s injury has not yet been officially confirmed by the BCCI nor a replacement announced. There are already several fast bowlers in the squad in Deepak’s absence. In such a situation, the board hardly gives anyone else a chance. Nevertheless, it will be interesting to see who takes Suryakumar’s place.

Suryakumar Also Took Part In The Practice Session

Suryakumar also participated in Team India’s practice session on Tuesday. Although he did not practice much. Now he can rest for a few days. India will play the first T20 match against Sri Lanka on 24 February. After this both the teams will go to Dharamsala for the next two T20 matches. Both these matches will be played on 26 and 27 February.

Indian squad for T20I series: Rohit Sharma (capt), Rituraj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav (injured), Sanju Samson, Ishan Kishan (wk), Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi , Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Jasprit Bumrah (Vice-Captain), Avesh Khan

India Tour Of Sri Lanka

•        1st T20: 24 February (Lucknow)
•        Second T20: February 26 (Dharamsala)
•        Third T20: February 27 (Dharamsala)
•        1st Test: March 4-8 (Mohali)
•        Second Test: March 12-16 (Bengaluru, Day-Night)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.