Tokyo Olympics opening ceremony can be held on the National Stadium on Friday.

Twenty-five members from the Indian contingent will attend the opening ceremony of the Tokyo 2020 Olympics scheduled to be held on Friday on the National Stadium amid the COVID-19 issues within the Japanese capital. Ankita Raina has been added to the checklist of gamers who will attend the occasion on Friday night whereas Manika Batra and Sharath Kamalfrom the Table Tennis group won’t attend the ceremony, IOA Secretary General Rajeev Mehta confirmed on Twitter. Amit, Ashish Kumar, Mary Kom are among the many eight boxers who can be current on the perform together with six Indian officials.

“Change in athletes checklist — Sharath Kamal and Manika Batra of Table Tennis are canceled and Ankita from Tennis is added,” Rajeev Mehta tweeted with an up to date checklist of gamers and officials who’re set to symbolize India within the ceremony.

Meanwhile, Indian hockey group skipper Manpreet Singh can even be there together with the above-mentioned athletes as he’s the flag bearer together with Mary Kom.

Archers, shooters, shuttlers, and hockey gamers (besides Manpreet) amongst others from the Indian contingent won’t be attending the Tokyo 2020 Olympics opening ceremony.

Notably, all those that have been requested to skip the opening ceremony have their respective occasions the next day. In the ceremony, India is at serial quantity 21 within the march previous. The sequence of march previous is as per the Japanese alphabet and solely six officials can take part from every collaborating nation.

A complete of over 120 athletes throughout 18 sports activities disciplines from India are collaborating in Olympics. This is the biggest-ever contingent India has despatched to any Olympics. The 69 cumulative occasions throughout the 18 sport disciplines that India will take part in are additionally the best ever for the nation.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here