The Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) fashioned an alliance on Saturday for the 2022 Punjab Assembly election.

Announcing the tie-up at a press convention, SAD president Sukhbir Singh Badal described it as a brand new day in politics of Punjab.

“Today, is a historic day…an enormous flip in Punjab’s politics, he stated within the presence of BSP General Secretary Satish Chandra Mishra.

He stated the SAD and the BSP will collectively battle the 2022 polls and different elections collectively.

The Mayawati-led BSP will battle 20 of the 117 Assembly seats in Punjab, whereas the remaining will likely be contested by the SAD, he stated.

Among the seats which the BSP will contest are Kartarpur Sahib in Jalandhar, Jalandhar-West, Jalandhar-North, Phagwara, Hoshiarpur Urban, Dasuya, Chamkaur Sahib in Rupnagar district, Bassi Pathana, Sujanpur in Pathankot, Mohali, Amritsar North and Amritsar Central.

The SAD earlier had a tie-up with the BJP and the Badal-led occasion walked out of the NDA over the farm legal guidelines problem final 12 months.

The BJP used to contest 23 seats underneath its alliance with the SAD.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here